How To Save at Lululemon


How To Save at Lululemon

Hi guys, happy Thursday to you!

I want you to know I decided to test a few theories before I posted this blog tonight. I had to do a little bit of research to truly “figure out” if what I thought was true, is true.

Let me explain. I’ve been shopping at Lululemon Athletica since I was 15. It is a retailer that I love with all my heart. There’s such a coolness factor to the brand and their pants fit me perfectly. It’s the one place, like Starbucks, where I’ve never questioned paying full price, even though as my boyfriend will tell you, I probably should.

About six months ago after I started teaching at Fly Fitness, I found out that I could join Lululemon’s “Sweat Collective” which is a program that allows fitness instructors to enjoy a 25% discount on EVERYTHING in their store or online. I was like, “sweet,” but I was still frustrated with the fact that every time I checked the online store, anything that I wanted was typically sold out.

It didn’t take me long to realize that Lululemon does this on purpose, as I’m sure you already know. They operate on a “scarcity” production cycle, which means this: they only create a certain amount of items in each style and when those items sell out, they’re gone. What this means is, that awesome top that is $32 and simple, will likely sell out in a day or two. The brand has done a great job of giving millennials major “FOMO” and making their audience feel like if they don’t snag their favorite items right away, they’ll be gone tomorrow. It’s a hallmark of the brand and definitely makes Lululemon a ton of money.

They even call their sale section online, “We Made Too Much,” which is a branded way of saying “This Was A Happy Accident, Get it Now!.”

Once again, if you ever check the sale section of Lululemon’s site, you’ll notice there’s nothing amazing because most of the good stuff gets snagged quickly. So, how do you save at this store?

1. Watch the times they upload new items online. I’ve done some research and figured out that they upload new items on on Tuesday afternoons/evenings, around 6:15 pm Eastern time / 3:15 pm Pacific time. That means 5:15 pm Central time, 4:15 pm Mountain time, or 12:15 pm Hawaii time. What this means is if you really want to snag one of the more affordable, trendy items they’ve started selling, you better be right there when it goes online. Popular items are known to sell out in hours.
2. Hop on that new sale as soon as it goes on sale. The “We Made Too Much” sale section is updated Thursday mornings. The time varies, but is generally around 11 am Eastern / 8 am Pacific at the earliest, or later on in the morning. Regardless, if you want something on sale that’s cool, you’ll have to check on Thursday.
3. If you’re an instructor, join the SWEAT COLLECTIVE program. They recently decided that they would allow instructors to also apply their discount to sale items, which makes this program just bangarang. I snagged a pair of pants last week for $40 because of it. I think the brand understands though, if one instructor wears a pair of pants while teaching a full class, it’s a great advertisement.

Okay, guys, that’s it! Those are my top 3 tips and honestly, I’ve already set up Google alerts and it’s making my Tuesdays and Thursdays that much sweeter knowing I can look forward to seeing what new stuff comes out and also what’s on sale. Drop me a line if one of these tips helps you! I want to hear from you! Until next time, don’t forget to shop smart with Hustle & Heart!

I’m always ready for my next great adventure. If you want to get in touch with me, hit me up!


Subscribe today and get my personal guide to hacking the major deparment stores for MAJOR SAVINGS. Plus, you'll be signed up for post updates, sale previews and fashion finds. Let Me Help You Hustle With Heart!

You have Successfully Subscribed!